Press release; Feb 24, 2017 10:45 AM CET

New member proposed for Swedish Match Board of Directors

At the upcoming Annual General Meeting on May 4, 2017, the Nominating Committee of Swedish Match AB will propose the election of Pauline Lindwall as a new member of the Swedish Match Board of Directors.

Pauline Lindwall is currently a Senior Advisor and Independent Board Director in public companies in Sweden and Germany. Current board assignments include Celesio AG, Duni AB, and Lantmännen. She holds a BSc in Business Administration and Economics from the University of Växjö, Sweden (1984).

Pauline Lindwall has worked with some of the most recognized brands in the world and has international experience having worked in Sweden, the UK, Denmark, Indonesia, Germany, and Switzerland. During 1984 – 2012 she held several positions within the Nestlé Group, of which the most recent were Country Business Manager for Nestlé Nutrition Germany & Austria based in Frankfurt and Country Business Manager for Nestlé Nutrition Indonesia, Jakarta. After almost 30 years with Nestlé, Pauline Lindwall joined Mondelez, (an American multinational confectionery, food, and beverage company based in Illinois, US in a Category Director role for France and Southern Europe within the coffee business.

Pauline Lindwall has extensive experience in fast moving consumer goods as well as knowledge and experience from working with regulatory products, particularly within the pharmacy and healthcare sector. The Nominating Committee has also made particular note of Pauline Lindwall’s experience from being a non-executive board member in a pharmacy company were she has been acquainted with the process of selling prescription drugs which will benefit the Board of Directors.

The current Swedish Match Board member Meg Tivéus has announced that she is not available for re-election at the upcoming Annual General Meeting.

Consequently, the Nominating Committee proposes re-election of the present Board members Conny Karlsson, Charles A. Blixt, Andrew Cripps, Jacqueline Hoogerbrugge, Wenche Rolfsen and Joakim Westh. New election is proposed of Pauline Lindwall. The Nominating Committee proposes Conny Karlsson as the Chairman of the Board and Andrew Cripps as the deputy Chairman of the Board.

In addition to the Chairman of the Board, Conny Karlsson, the Nominating Committee comprises the following members: William James (Standard Life Investments), Mark Husson (Cedar Rock Capital), Daniel Ovin (Nordea Asset Management) and Ulrika Danielson (The Second Swedish National Pension Fund). Daniel Ovin has acted as the Chairman of the Nominating Committee. The Company’s General Counsel, Marie-Louise Heiman, acted as secretary to the Nominating Committee.